创始于1997年
ISO9001质量认证
主页 >> 钨合金军用产品 >>坦克用钨合金弹芯

坦克用钨合金弹芯

钨合金弹芯具有高密度,高硬度,高强度等特性,广泛用于穿甲弹。早在20世纪60年代,美国与西德联合研制的MBT-70主战坦克就已开始采用由钨合金弹芯制成的穿甲弹。

什么是MBT-70坦克?

MBT-70坦克(德国编号:KPz70)是20世纪60年代,由美国与西德联合研制的主战坦克。MBT-70坦克几乎使用了当时最先进的技术。MBT-70坦克采用了当时最先进的液气悬挂装置,多燃料发动机等。MBT-70使用的是一门152mm的XM-150炮弹/导弹两用炮管。该炮管既可发射常规弹药,也可发射炮射导弹。

1969年,由于超额的经费,西德退出了该项目,并独立研发了新一代主战坦克(豹2主战坦克)。美国则继续研制MBT-70坦克,直到1971年,美国国会取消了该项目。MBT-70坦克可以算是包括豹2坦克,M1"艾布拉姆斯"坦克在内的当今世界第三代主战坦克的鼻祖。

MBT-70坦克历史

MBT-70坦克20世纪60年代,美国军方继续升级其当时的M60坦克。但苏联在边境上部署了新型坦克,使得美国坦克与苏联坦克之间形成了巨大的代差。最先开始的项目是研制超级坦克,就是后来由美国与西德联合研制的MBT-70坦克。但后来由于高昂的成本,该项目彻底失败。经过时任美国国防部长麦克纳马拉的努力,美国与西德于1963年签署协议,决定联合研制新一代主战坦克。该坦克装有均质钢装甲,其装甲内层是高硬度均匀轧制的装甲钢。

钨合金弹芯与坦克

然而,各种问题在项目开始前就已经困扰着MBT-70坦克。英语德语之间互译的困难,英制单位的转换以及两国工业标准之间的巨大差异,让坦克的设计困难重重。许多新技术在设计时,依然处于验证阶段,抬升了研制成本。美德两国之间的意见分歧也导致项目的最终失败。

1965年至1972年间,美国军方研制152mm XM578穿甲弹,以供MBT-70坦克使用。XM573穿甲弹使用的是钨合金弹芯,密度比英国研制的钨合金高一些。成分为97.5%的钨和2.5%的粘合剂,密度达到18.5g/cc。为了应对新的需求,英国研制出一种密度比原有的钨合金弹芯高一些的钨合金弹芯,成分为93%的钨和7%的粘合剂。新的钨合金弹芯密度达到17g/cc。

钨合金弹芯 钨合金弹芯 钨合金弹芯
钨合金弹芯-1 T钨合金弹芯-2 钨合金弹芯-3

然而不幸的是,成本的升高和技术原因导致两国最后分道扬镳。试验原定于1968年开始,但技术原因导致试验几度推迟,并使成本升高。到了1969年,总花费已比原定的预算高出5倍,导致西德退出研发。1970年1月,西德终止了MBT-70坦克的研发。同一财政年度(1971-1972)德国内部就武器采购计划产生了分歧,一部分人倾向于采购先进的攻击武装直升机,而另一部分则倾向于继续参与MBT-70坦克的研发。虽然德军的高层人员十分清楚这两种武器系统对德军未来的现代化发展至关重要,但他们无法说服德国国防部与国会,对武器系统的需求与成本是相衬的。由于MBT-70坦克已经成型,联邦德国修改了1970财政年度的合作计划。

美国则继续研发MBT-70坦克,但此时坦克的技术标准已大幅缩水。但该坦克被重新命名为XM803坦克。该坦克使用的引擎马力更小,也没有复杂的液气悬挂装置,装甲防护结构也被原有的结构更简化。美国之所以改变设计计划,是为了降低研发成本,提升坦克的可靠性,但作战性能不能大幅降低。1969年12月,新的计划被提交到国防部办公室审视,之后该修订计划获得批准。根据其修改计划以及两国合作已有的成功,坦克被重新命名为XM803。

作为MBT-70坦克的继任者,XM803坦克担任着实现美军装甲部队现代化的重任。考虑到其成本,美国国会于1971年12月取消了XM803项目的研发经费,并最终导致项目被取消。但美国国会同意保留两千万美元,以供美军继续后续的研制。MBT-70坦克的失败诞生了德国的豹2坦克和美国的M1艾布拉姆斯坦克。德国豹2坦克的设计源于德国版的MBT-70坦克。1973年,基于两国之前的合作,美国决定采用德国的120mm滑膛炮,用于新型的坦克上。

如果您想了解更多有关钨合金弹芯的信息,请联系我们: sales@chinatungsten.com sales@xiamentungsten.com 或者致电: 86 592 5129696。

联系地址: 福建省厦门市软件园二期望海路25号3楼;邮编:361008
电话:+86-592-5129696,+86-592-5129595;传真:+86-592-5129797;Email:sales@chinatungsten.com sales@xiamentungsten.com
 中华人民共和国增值电信业务经营许可证:闽B2-20090025 闽ICP备06012101号-1
版权所有©1997 - 2016 中钨在线

ESTABLISHED 1997
ISO9001 CERTIFICATED
Inquiry,Suggestion,Comment & Feedback
Home >> Tungsten Alloy Military Fittings >>Tungsten Alloy for Tank System

Tungsten Alloy for Tank System

What is MBT-70 in Tank?

The MBT-70 (German: KPz 70) was a 1960s German-U.S. joint project to develop a new main battle tank, which was to be equipped with a number of advanced features. It utilized a newly developed hydropneumatic "kneeling" suspension and housed the entire crew in the large turret. The MBT-70 NBC system was armed with a 152 mm XM-150 gun/launcher, which could use conventional ammunition and the Shillelagh missile for long range combat.

In 1969 the project was well over budget and the Germans withdrew from the effort, developing a new main battle tank on their own instead (the Leopard 2). In the US the development continued for a short time, until in 1971 the Congress cancelled the program. The MBT-70 is the "grandfather" of the Leopard 2 and the M1 Abrams, the current main battle tanks of both countries.

History of Tank System

MBT70 NBC systemDuring the 1960s the US Army continued to improve the M60 tank. However, unless a new tank was fielded there would be a large gap between US and Soviet tanks when the Soviets fielded their next generation tank system. The first try at the Super tank concept, the MBT 70 NBC system was a failure due to high costs. An early example of a codevelopment initiative is the MBT-70 [Main Battle Tank 1970s] program between West Germany and the United States. Thanks largely to the support of then Defense Secretary Robert McNamara, agreement was reached in 1963 between the two nations to jointly develop a main battle tank. With cast homogeneous steel layered armor, the inner shell was overlaid with spaced high hardness homogeneous rolled armor steel.

The US prototype was equipped with a 152mm gun launcher with an auto loader. Main battle tank was capable of firing AP/HE/WP rounds and the Shillelagh Missile. The main battle tank was to be a long-barreled improved XM-150 variant of the XM-81 gun/launcher mounted on the M551 Sheridan and the M60a2 Patton. Main battle tank was a much more reliable weapon than the earlier variant, firing Sabot, HE, and Canister rounds in addition to the Shillelagh A/T Missile, but the earlier weapon's reputation was such that it was a lost cause from the start. Main battle tank had a coax 7.62 machinegun and a 20mm AA remote control gun in a separate part of the turret. Main battle tank would pop up out of twin hatches and fire at the target. The German version had a 120mm auto cannon, instead of the 152mm gun launcher.

In some respects, the tank was fairly conventional. Main battle tank had a diesel engine, and the armor, whilst strong was not of the composite type on the Abrams. The silhouette was low. The main battle tank had a three-man crew, each in his own compartment. Probably the most intriguing aspect was that all the crewmen were located in the turret. The driver was in the turret, in a capsule that rotated to keep him orientated to the front of the vehicle. This had the effect of raising the silhouette a little, and if the contra-rotating mechanism was knocked out, it would effectively immobilize the tank. Main battle tank was to include hydro pneumatic suspension, stabilization system, and a NBC system. The hydro pneumatic suspension allowed the vehicle to crouch or raise one end of the tank to better take advantage of hull-down positions.

Tungsten Alloy for Tank System

Problems, however, plagued the MBT-70 NBC system program from the beginning. Difficulties with English-German translations, metric to English measurement conversions, and differences between German and American manufacturing and designing practices caused considerable headaches before the first tanks were even designed. Most of the new systems were still experimental and this led to massive cost overruns and delays. Also the joint nature of the program led to disagreements about design features.

From 1965 to 1972, the US Army conducted a parallel development program for the 152mm XM578 cartridge, which was co-developed with the prototype MBT-70 Main Battle Tank. The XM578 cartridge used a tungsten alloy that was slightly denser than the British alloy, consisting of 97.5 percent tungsten and 2.5 percent binder, which had a density of 18.5 gm/cc. In response to the new operational requirements, military developers evaluated a succession of metal alloys. Initially, the British government developed a higher density tungsten alloy consisting of 93 percent tungsten and 7 percent binder tungsten alloy (WA). The new WA alloy had a density of 17 gm/cc -- versus 13 gm/cc for tungsten carbide.

tungsten alloy for MBT70 NBC system tungsten alloy for MBT70 NBC system tungsten alloy for MBT70 NBC system
Tungsten Alloy for Tank System-1 Tungsten Alloy for Tank System-2 Tungsten Alloy for Tank System-3

Unfortunately, rising costs and technical problems caused the partners to go their separate ways. Trials began in 1968 and problems resulted in further delays and cost overruns. By 1969 the vehicle cost 5 times what was projected and as a result Germany backed out of the project. The MBT-70 NBC system was finally halted in January 1970. The same fiscal year (1971-72) witnessed the termination of two major weapons procurement programs, one for the Cheyenne advanced attack helicopter and the other for the MBT-70 NBC system. Although Army leaders saw both weapons systems as critical to the Army's long overdue modernization program, they were unable to convince the Department of Defense and Congress of a need for these weapons commensurate with their costs. The joint effort with the Federal Republic of Germany, under which the MBT-70 NBC system had been developed, was modified to a co-operative program in the middle of Fiscal Year 1970.

The US chose to give the MBT70 another chance, but this time as an austere vehicle with toned-down technological gizmos. This project was dubbed XM803, and it featured a less powerful engine, lacked the complex hydro pneumatic suspension, and was protected by a simpler armor array than MBT-70 NBC system. Changes in the US design were recommended to decrease production costs and increase the reliability of the vehicle; sacrifices in combat effectiveness were minimal. In December 1969, the new program was reviewed in the Office of the Secretary of Defense and in the following month the recommended changes were approved. With the modification of the program and of the co-operative features of the engineering effort, the tank received a new designation, XM803; the composite nomenclature MBT-70 / XM-803 was used until February 1971.

The XM803, the successor to the abortive MBT-70 project, was intended to modernize the armored force. Concerned about expense, Congress withdrew funding for the XM803 in December 1971, thereby canceling the program, but agreed to leave the remaining surplus of $20 million in Army hands to continue conceptual studies. This resulted in the German Leopard II and the US M1 Abrams. The Leopard 2's power pack was originally designed for the German prototype of the MBT-70 NBC system. In 1973, cooperation between these two projects led to the adoption of the German 120mm smoothbore gun by the US.

If you have any interest in tungsten alloy for tank system, please feel free to contact us by email: sales@chinatungsten.com sales@xiamentungsten.com or by telephone: 86 592 5129696.

Related Links: What's Tungsten Alloy| Tungsten Heavy Alloy Grades| Tungsten Heavy Alloy Application
Address: 3F, No.25 WH Rd., Xiamen Software Park Ⅱ, FJ 361008,China
sales@chinatungsten.com sales@xiamentungsten.com
 Certified by MIIT:闽B2-20090025 闽ICP备06012101号-1
Copyright©1997 - 2016 ChinaTungsten Online All Rights Reserved