创始于1997年
ISO9001质量认证
主页 >> 钨合金军用产品 >>高比重钨合金穿甲弹历史

高比重钨合金穿甲弹历史

第一次世界大战

钨合金穿甲弹
高比重钨合金穿甲弹
第一次世界大战期间,高比重钨合金穿甲弹主要用于反坦克枪。许多国家采用反坦克枪作为反坦克武器,除了英国。英国唯一使用的是APHE型穿甲弹。该穿甲弹在穿甲的过程中,首先是下坠,而后引信从弹体上分离。即使引信没有成功分离,系统也会自动修复,保证穿甲。这样就可以节约时间和成本。APHE型弹药中填充的炸药的重量相当于弹头重量的1-3%,炸药是由后置延时引信引爆的。APHE的弹头对撞击不能过于敏感,以防止过早引爆。美军主要采用的是D型炸药,也称为苦酸铵,作用与其相类似。其他国家军队采用的其他炸药,例如适宜性脱敏炸药(石蜡与炸药混合)。

一战期间的穿甲弹主要采用特殊的不锈钢制成。不锈钢被锻造成不同的形状,而后进行彻底的退火。弹芯在后部,外壳在车床上。整个弹头的制作过程也是与此类似。最后为了达到穿甲的要求,赋予弹头高硬度,高强度等特性。而这项工艺是高度保密的。

弹头的后腔内装有相当于弹头2%重量的炸药。装好炸药之后还只是半成品,不是成品。弹头内的高爆炸药,无论是否装有引信,都具有穿甲的性能。








第二次世界大战

钨合金穿甲弹
高比重钨合金穿甲弹
二战期间,弹头是由合金钢制成的,合金钢成分为镍-铬-钼。由于后期原料供应被切断,德国转而采用硅-锰-铬合金代替。虽然该合金强度能达到同等的水平,但比重更轻,在对付高倾斜装甲时,容易破裂,导致穿甲性能降低。而使用高爆炸药的高比重钨合金穿甲弹,由于高爆炸药的缘故,有可能导致过早引爆。在二战期间,尤其是德国的军工部门,大力发展高强度材料,用于穿甲弹弹头。其穿甲弹但头的硬度,强度都有显著的提升。

1943年,英国皇家海军15英寸钨合金被帽穿甲弹



穿甲弹与被帽穿甲弹。

二战早期英国采用的无帽穿甲弹在100米距离内,可穿透相当于其口径两倍的装甲板。对于更远的距离(500-1000m),由于弹道飞行轨迹差和早期小口径穿甲弹的高阻力,穿甲弹的口径下降到1.5-1.1。后期,被帽穿甲弹在100m据里内,有大口径(75-128 mm)高速的枪发射,可穿透相当于它们口径2.5倍的穿甲板,在更远的范围(1500-2000m)内,可穿透相当于口径2-1.75倍厚的装甲板。

二战后至今

当今火炮用的高比重钨合金穿甲弹还带有燃烧的能力。燃烧物位于被帽与穿甲弹芯之间,穿甲弹芯后部还有个内腔。如果该炮弹是曳光弹,其后腔中携带有示踪物质。如果是大口径炮弹,其示踪物质由密封塞所取代。通常,火炮使用的炮弹上标有AP,AP-T,API和API-T,T代表曳光,I表示燃烧。

虽然传统形式的高比重钨合金穿甲弹可用于大口径武器上(40-57 mm),尤其在俄国以及前苏联地区还有使用这种穿甲弹。但该穿甲弹很少用于现代枪支上。现代枪支主要发射半穿甲高爆子弹(SAPHE),该子弹虽然穿甲性能下降,但具有很高的反器材以及反人员能力。当今的SAPHE弹药虽然还有一个弹道帽,坚硬的外壳以及引信。但其壳体更薄,炸药含量更高(4-15%)。目前枪支使用的穿甲弹有:HEI(BF), SAPHE, SAPHEI和SAPERI-T。

当今的主动防御系统(APS)不大可能完全防御由大口径反坦克炮发射的穿甲弹。但该系统能够防御当前世界上最常使用的两种穿甲弹:反坦克高爆弹(HEAT)以及尾翼稳定脱壳穿甲弹(APFSDS)。防御反坦克高爆弹主要是破坏或者引爆其内部填充的高能炸药,或者破坏其药型罩或者引信。而防御尾翼稳定脱壳穿甲弹主要是使其偏离预定轨道,或者破坏其弹体。由于高比重钨合金穿甲弹质量大,硬度高,长度小,壳体薄,APS系统能够对其产生影响。

如果您想了解更多的高比重钨合金穿甲弹,请联系我们: sales@chinatungsten.com 或者致电:00 86 592 5129696。

联系地址: 福建省厦门市软件园二期望海路25号3楼;邮编:361008
电话:+86-592-5129696,+86-592-5129595;传真:+86-592-5129797;Email:sales@chinatungsten.com sales@xiamentungsten.com
 中华人民共和国增值电信业务经营许可证:闽B2-20090025 闽ICP备06012101号-1
版权所有©1997 - 2016 中钨在线

ESTABLISHED 1997
ISO9001 CERTIFICATED
Inquiry,Suggestion,Comment & Feedback
Home >> Tungsten Alloy Military Fittings >>Tungsten Armor Piercing History

Tungsten Armor Piercing History

First World War Era

Tungsten Armor Piercing
Tungsten Armor Piercing
Tungsten armor piercing shells for tank guns, although used by most forces of this period, were not used by the British. The only British APHE projectile was the it AP, Mk1 for the 2 pdr anti-tank gun and this was dropped as the product was found that the fuse tended to separate from the body during penetration. Even when the fuse didn't separate and the system functioned correctly, damage to the interior was little different from the solid shot, and so did not warrant the additional time and cost of producing a shell version. APHE projectiles of this period used a bursting charge of about 1-3% of the weight of the complete projectile, the filling detonated by a rear mounted delay fuse. The explosive used in APHE projectiles needs to be highly insensitive to shock to prevent premature detonation. The US forces normally used the Explosive D, otherwise known as ammonium pirate, for this purpose. Other combatant forces of the period used various explosives, suitability desensitized (usually by the use of waxes mixed with the explosive).

Shot and shell used prior to and during World War I were generally cast from special chromium (stainless) steel that was melted in pots. They were forged into shape afterward and then thoroughly annealed, the core bored at the rear and the exterior turned up in a lathe. The projectiles were finished in a similar manner to others described above. The final, or tempering treatment, which gave the required hardness/toughness profile (differential hardening) to the projectile body, was a closely guarded secret.

The rear cavity of these projectiles was capable of receiving a small bursting charge of about 2% of the weight of the complete projectile; when this is used, the projectile is called a priduct, not a tungsten armor piercing shot. The HE filling of the product, whether fused or unfused, had a tendency to explode on striking armor in excess of its ability to perforate.

Second World War

Tungsten Armor Piercing
Tungsten Armor Piercing
During WWII, projectiles used highly alloyed steels containing nickel-chromium-molybdenum, although in Germany, this had to be changed to a silicon-manganese-chromium-based alloy when those grades became scarce. The latter alloy, although able to be hardened to the same level, was more brittle and had a tendency to shatter on striking highly sloped armor. The shattered shot lowered penetration, or resulted in total penetration failure; for tungsten armor piercing high-explosive (APHE) projectiles, this could result in premature detonation of the HE filling. Highly advanced and precise methods of differentially hardening the projectile were developed during this period, especially by the German armament industry. The resulting projectiles gradually change from high hardness (low toughness) at the head to high toughness (low hardness) at the rear and were much less likely to fail on impact.

British Naval 15-inch Capped Tungsten Armor Piercing Shell, 1943



"Armor-Piercing Capped (APC)" and "Armor-Piercing Capped Ballistic Capped (APCBC)".

Early WWII-era uncapped AP projectiles fired from high-velocity guns were able to penetrate about twice their caliber at close range (100 m). At longer ranges (500-1,000 m), this dropped 1.5-1.1 calibers due to the poor ballistic shape and higher drag of the smaller-diameter early projectiles. Later in the conflict, APCBC fired at close range (100 m) from large-caliber, high-velocity guns (75-128 mm) were able to penetrate a much greater thickness of armor in relation to their caliber (2.5 times) and also a greater thickness (2-1.75 times) at longer ranges (1,500-2,000 m).

Modern Day

Tungsten Armor Piercing Shot

Tungsten armor piercing "shot" for cannons tend to combine some form of incendiary capability with that of armor-penetration. The incendiary compound is normally contained between the cap and penetrating nose, within a hollow at the rear, or a combination of both. If the projectile also uses a tracer, the rear cavity is often used to house the tracer compound. For larger-caliber projectiles, the tracer may instead be contained within an extension of the rear sealing plug. Common abbreviations for solid (non-composite/hardcore) cannon-fired shot are; AP, AP-T, API and API-T; where T stands for "tracer" and I for "incendiary".

Tungsten Armor Piercing Shells

Tungsten armor piercing shells in the classic form are not common in modern guns, though they may be found in the larger (40-57 mm) weapons, especially it of Russian or Soviet-era descent. Modern guns instead fire semi-armor-piercing high-explosive (SAPHE) shells, which have less anti-armor capability, but far greater anti-materiel/personnel effects. The modern SAPHE projectiles still have a ballistic cap; hardened body and base fuse, but tend to have a far thinner body material and higher explosive content (4-15%). Common abbreviations for modern AP and SAP shells are: HEI (BF), SAPHE, SAPHEI and SAPHEI-T.

Most modern active protection systems (APS) are unlikely to be able to defeat full-caliber AP rounds fired from a large-caliber tank gun. The APS can defeat the two most common anti-armor projectiles in use today: HEAT and APFSDS. The defeat of HEAT projectiles is accomplished through damage/detonation of the HE filling or damage to the shaped charge liner and/or fusing system, and defeat of APFSDS projectiles is accomplished by inducing yaw/pitch and/or fracturing of the rod. Due to the AP shot/shell's high mass, rigidity, short overall length, and thick body, tungsten armor piercing are hardly affected by the defeat methods employed by APS systems (fragmentation warheads or projected plates).

If you want to know more details about tungsten armor piercing shells, please feel free to contact us by email: sales@chinatungsten.com or by phone:00 86 592 5129696.

Related Links: What's Tungsten Alloy| Tungsten Heavy Alloy Grades| Tungsten Heavy Alloy Application
Address: 3F, No.25 WH Rd., Xiamen Software Park Ⅱ, FJ 361008,China
sales@chinatungsten.com sales@xiamentungsten.com
 Certified by MIIT:闽B2-20090025 闽ICP备06012101号-1
Copyright©1997 - 2016 ChinaTungsten Online All Rights Reserved